AbiWordBigChecklist

The title of this post, AbiWordBigChecklist, also happens to be the title of a Tomboy note which has been permanently opened on my desktop. It’s essentially a todo of all the bugs and features I know about in my GSOC project, and I’ve been whittling it down steadilyish over the summer. As of right now, I’m leaving for school on the 10th, so I need to complete as much of it as possible before then; that’s about 1.5 weeks.  >_<

Bold items are urgent, italic items don’t affect usability as much and are considered less so.

  • Pretty blue selection not shown after first row/Backspace does not erase letters after the first row
  • Cursor messed up on up & down arrow keys
    • ::getPageYOffset ::_findPositionCoord ?
    • The cursor is almost literally just moving up and down without regard for horizontal pages.
  • Scrollbar fix for fit to page width zoom. Unneeded if auto-tile is the only mode usable, ala Microsoft Word.
  • Normal page view needs a little work; page separator line not getting erased properly
  • RTL
    • Earlier pages in same row not redrawn properly. (Though they work fine when opening an existing doc or when forcibly refreshed by moving another window over AbiWord when not using Compiz.) Related to redraw issues above?
      • I’m handling RTL right now by just having pages start at the left and then moved a space to the right when the end is reached and a new page is started. This allows minimal code changes from LTR mode, but I don’t think AbiWord redraws older pages to start with. Also, this happens on the first row, meaning it’s probably not related to the above urgent. Crap. I need to write stream-of-consciousness more often.
      • I initially tried drawing the page at the right side of the screen, but it was kinda flickery and felt sluggish and hackish when the window was resized. I’m running out of time to make this, I may have to revert back to this and submit some patches after summer of code ends.
    • Make RTL use document preference (easy fix?)
    • Bottom of page shadow cut off when col > 0
  • Top ruler (figure out how left ruler is moving and mimic that. once this is located, easy fix?)
  • GUI for using this feature (I have several ideas for how to implant it, the simplest just being a View menu entry for “Multiple page view.” Still working out how menus work.)

So, yeah. I’ma be spazzing out over this until I leave. Packing for school is pretty straightforward, anyway. :-)


RSS Status

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Del.icio.us

Creative Commons License
This stuff is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

