My Salad

I had two midterms today. In order to properly prepare one’s body for the harrowing experience, one must obtain three things: study, food, and sleep. I had one of those. Now, lunch is good for the brain and all that, but so is sleep, and I didn’t feel comfortable proceeding henceforth and thereon on six hours. Clearly, something had to be done. I needed to up my sleep stat to seven hours. So, I did.

An hour later, at 11:45, I advanced out of the door. My path was clear. I would approach the fine dining establishment known as The Hive, order an conversion meal, go to the classroom, and eat it before the test started. This is a test that starts at 12:00 sharp, mind you. I know, I’m brilliant that way.  After a three minute jaunt down to this hive of eatables and grease and a five minute wait in line, I had reached the conversion meal. It was a salad. That’s not exactly what I would have chosen, had I had a choice, but time, the universe, and everything had been and were gradually ticking away.

I entered the classroom just in time to receive my scantron sheet. Ok, so no food for now. It’s ok. The classroom is nice and cool, and the salad will be perfectly fine sitting under my chair while I take the test for an hour and a half. Yes.

Midterm number one was completed. I walked to my next class and seized the salad. At last, leafy goodness smothered with with Italian goo would be mine! I smothered it with Italian goo.

“Hey James, do you have your nutritional analysis assignment?”
Wait, what? Um, no, no I did not. I had taken it to the previous three sessions, and the professor had said he would take it the next session each time. Today was the next session.

The weather was clear and hot as I sprinted out of Solheim and vaulted over an unsuspecting hedge. After much drama and sweating and wheezing, I returned to the classroom and passed out on my desk. Just as the professor started passing out scantrons. Aww man.

The poor salad is now sitting in my refrigerator looking rather wilted. I can’t imagine why. It’s only been left at room temperature for like three and a half hours.

Sweet salad, I would have liked to knew thee well.

1 Response to “My Salad”


  1. 1 lgbsneak October 18, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    Haha
    Very good story….


Comments are currently closed.



RSS Status

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Del.icio.us

Creative Commons License
This stuff is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

