Safari on Windows?

I’d just like to say, Windows Safari is pretty much the most bizarre thing I’ve seen all month. I feel so confused.

3 Responses to “Safari on Windows?”


  1. 1 towwad June 25, 2007 at 10:26 am

    I grabbed it as soon as soon as it was announced on the news.
    I’m delighted!
    Like Firefox it can’t play MS on line games but I like it better than IE and Firefox for everything else.
    They are nice about letting you choose the features you want.
    I wanted Safari and QuickTime but not iTunes as I’m not into iTunes.
    After my misadventure rebuilding this PC Apple is looking better and better.
    But I’m keeping my Linus OS 🙂
    best,
    tow-

  2. 2 Caleb July 9, 2007 at 2:04 am

    It renders most things the same way FF3 does, except I’ve noticed it sometimes does crazy things with PHP sites, especially message boards (and why else would you need to use PHP, honestly?).
    For casual browsing, I still like IE7 the best…I hate to admit it, but I think Microsoft did a good job.
    The upside of Safari for Windows: It’s much prettier than any other browser except maybe Opera.

  3. 3 James July 10, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    Caleb, just, please. Stop talking.

    “It renders most things the same way FF3 does”
    * Why are you comparing Webkit to an unreleased version of Gecko? You are aware that Firefox 3 is still in alpha, right?

    “I’ve noticed it sometimes does crazy things with PHP sites, especially message boards (and why else would you need to use PHP, honestly?).”
    * PHP is a sever-side language. It has absolutely nothing to do with what browser you use, since they all see the output as HTML.
    * You can use PHP for pretty much anything with non-static content. In addition to bulletin board systems, it’s used for blogs, search engines, content management systems, social networking sites, and aggregated content. A huge portion of the web runs off PHP.

    “For casual browsing, I still like IE7 the best”
    * No comment.

    “…I hate to admit it, but I think Microsoft did a good job.”
    * Yeah. That’s why it still renders pages incorrectly and can’t support standards that were set in place over TEN YEARS AGO.

    “The upside of Safari for Windows: It’s much prettier than any other browser…”
    * You know what I think is beautiful? Breaking half the human interaction guidelines for a platform and ignoring the user’s desktop theme. Yep.
    * No. No, it isn’t.


Comments are currently closed.



RSS Status

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Del.icio.us

Creative Commons License
This stuff is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

