Microsoft Launch Day in Dallas

In what looks to be an extremely hypish marketing move, Microsoft is hosting an all-day Windows Vista/Office 2007 launch event in Dallas on the 21st. In exchange for sitting through a bunch of presentations about how Vista and Office are the best things since sliced bread, you get a free copy of Office 2007 pro and Groove.

Yes, I am a Linux advocate and such. Normally, I wouldn’t care about such things. However, this evening I recieved and email from the campus ACM chapter. Basically, if I apply and my application to attend is accepted, I get sponsored to go. This turns it into a completely different matter. Office 2007’s DOCX format, while technically an open standard, is currently only completely supported by Office ’07, and I believe the school has plans to upgrade the labs in the near future. I am also a poorish student, and getting $500+ of useful software in echange for sitting through a day of potentially interesting presentations on Windows development is extremely tempting. As they say, “know thy enemy.” Worst case, it’s boring and I make notes about how much better Ubuntu is. Best case for Microsoft, I come back and blog about how l33t Office and Vista are. Rest assured, the latter won’t be happening, though though there’s always the wonderful chance that I’ve been wrong about Vista. I hope I’ve been wrong about Vista, for the sake of clueless desktop users everywhere.

2 Responses to “Microsoft Launch Day in Dallas”


  1. 1 phanboy_iv January 16, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    Take some Ubuntu Live CDs to the thing and pass ’em around.

  2. 2 James January 17, 2007 at 5:00 pm

    lol. I might consider that, but I actually *want* to get a copy of office… Maybe I’ll send it to the Wine team. They claim free copies of software (especially games) mean a substantial increase in the chances that the software will be better supported.
    Or maybe not. I think I read that it was going to be an automated-download-and-regkey-install-on-the-spot type of thing.


Comments are currently closed.



RSS Status

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Del.icio.us

Creative Commons License
This stuff is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

