Neat little things

I’m coming off my Christmas break, but oddly I haven’t felt like blogging at all. I shall provide random bullet points and call it “a post”.

  • Use the scrollwheel on the Gnome taskbar to flip through all your windows quickly.
  • Glipper solves all the annoyances I’ve had with copy and paste on Linux.
  • Gens works on Linux and plays all my old Sonic games quite nicely. It even has a nice GUI.
  • “apt-get install gweled” for a nice Diamond Mine clone
  • Zelda Classic brings The Legend of Zelda 1 to PC, no emulator required. It features a quest editor and a Linux version.
  • MoM is an interesting half-free MMORPG, apparently programmed by just one guy.
  • Ted Dekker’s Circle trillogy rocks, as do P. G. Wodehouse’s many short stories.
  • OICCC is upon us once more. It has inspired me to brush up on my C skills and write a program that prints its own source code. It seems like it would be possible to create a recursive program that changes it’s source, recompiles, executes the new program and exits. This prospect excites me, though I can’t think of any practical reason for doing it.
  • I thought this was pretty funny.
5 Responses to “Neat little things”


  1. 1 penguin January 4, 2007 at 9:07 am

    You know, in Fluxbox, you can put your cursor over any bit of desktop and scroll, and you will fly through workspaces. It’s very cool, but i bit hard to get used to, cause it scrolls the opposite direction than what seems logical

  2. 2 James January 4, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    I used to use that all the time, and I think I once found a way to do it in Gnome, but I turned it off. I like the ability to scroll wheel outside a window and not flip through three desktops by mistake.
    I believe you can invert the order fluxbox flips through desktops, btw.

  3. 3 Liz January 4, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    Why is the comic funny?

  4. 4 James January 5, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    Because it’s true. ^_^

  5. 5 Liz January 6, 2007 at 11:52 pm

    I don’t get it.


Comments are currently closed.



RSS Status

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Del.icio.us

Creative Commons License
This stuff is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

