Ubuntu 6.06 released!

The new version of Ubuntu 'tis officially here! The website has a revamp, the IRC chatroom on freenode is overflowing and the torrents are going at record speed. If you want to see some of the fastest BitTorrent downloads ever, now is the time. 😉

I've been testing it for the past month and I think I can safely say that this is the best Linux distro I've ever used. There are rough edges here and there, but nothing show stopping. The hardware detection is superb, I got 3d acceleration going in ten minutes, and almost everything "just works". This distro is on par with Windows XP in every area except gaming.

The entire thing comes on a live disk now, so even if you don't want to run it as your main OS, you can safely demo it.

Go check it out!

2 Responses to “Ubuntu 6.06 released!”


  1. 1 Marc June 2, 2006 at 11:37 am

    I upgraded to Ubuntu 6 (“Dapper Drake”) from Ubuntu 5 (“Breezy Badger”, which I was already pleased with) and was pleasantly surprised to find that my system is much more responsive than with Breezy. Firefox seems especially snappier. I really like the new GNOME deskbar applet too.

  2. 2 James June 2, 2006 at 11:31 pm

    It *is* fairly swift. Back when things were in beta it was fun to reboot after an update and see like twenty seconds cut off boot time.

    I don’t use the deskbar nearly as much as I thought I would, though. What I am using a lot are the icons on the desktop (yes, I turned them back on) and the multiple window mode of the file browser. I just find it easier to work with. I’m strongly considering going back to using Rox, though. As zippy as Gnome is, it just doesn’t feel as fast as the Rox Desktop.


Comments are currently closed.



RSS Status

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Del.icio.us

Creative Commons License
This stuff is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

