New (to me) laptop!

Huzzah!
About Augustish, Ben gave me a laptop with a dead disk. I immediately set to searching for a new hard drive for which to use in this wondrous machine. But then, I ordered from The Josh. He’s so cool, it only took him till January to get the thing to me. Ahem.

But now the thing is up and running. It’s a Compaq Prosignia, model number PP2060. Apparently, only 12 were ever made. Or so I assume, since there exists no useful information whatsoever on the ‘net about them. But now that its up and running, I can give you my specs.

OS: Debian Linux Sarge
Processor: Pentium III (Copermine) 450MHz
Ram: 64 Mb
Hard disk: (Old, corrupted) 6.4 Gigs.
Hard disk: (The one from Josh) 20 Gigs.
Sound card: ESS Maestro M2
Video card: ATi Mach64: RAGE™ Mobility. (8 Mb) Tag on card: “XPERT 98 AGP 2X”
Cdrom: (Guessing) 24x. Removable.
Floppy: Standard. Also removable.
Note to self: Don’t put the battery in the floppy slot, even though they look nearly identical. Even though the battery actually locks into place. Bad.

So. I now have a laptop that can play low-end 3d games in Windows, has more storage then I’ll ever use for at least the next six months, upgradable (and cheap!) ram, a sound card that works in Linux, and a halfway decent very low-end processing speed.

And, last but not least, I can now watch Homestar Runner, in Linux, on a portable device. I have reached nerdvana.

2 Responses to “New (to me) laptop!”


  1. 1 Dude April 2, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    I stumbled across your blog when searching for info on the same laptop that I have. Just so you know, the battery is designed to fit into the floppy bay, and thus, have 2 batteries to power the machine if desired (Look inside the floppy bay, there’s a battery connector in there). But, the floppy won’t work in the normal battery bay.

    Hope this helps!
    Matt

  2. 2 James April 3, 2007 at 1:50 am

    Ah, nice info. With twice the battery life, now I can run for twenty minutes instead of my regular ten. 😉


Comments are currently closed.



RSS Status

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Del.icio.us

Creative Commons License
This stuff is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

