AbiWord netbook mockups

I’ve had a few ideas recently about improving the usability of AbiWord on netbooks. Abi is already fast and small (always a good thing on a low power machine), but my general impression of netbooks is that they usually have fairly small, low resolution screens and small, somewhat imprecise input devices.

To this end, I’ve started making mockups of various interface concepts and ideas. Here are two of them.

Maximize concept

Maximize concept

(I’ve used the Windows XP taskbar because it’s easier to work with than the transparent Windows 7 one. Please excuse typos. Paint.net does not allow editing previously entered text. ;-) )

Are the tabs too much like Word 2007?

This mockup is unfinished. I "borrowed" the Adobe Reader sidebar. Without permission. Are the tabs too much like Word 2007?

On the one hand, I’m somewhat hesitant to break a lot of platform specific human interface guidelines. On the other hand, they probably weren’t written with netbooks in mind. The gray interface seems like it would provide better contrast between the interface and the text in a brightly lit environment than the default grayish color.

Note also that my tabs are clearly better than the ones in Microsoft Office 2007 because they can be accessed from the side of the screen (even if the mockup does a really poor job of showing the idea). I may be treading close to the MS patent here though; I’ll need to check out the exact details of what that covers.

I do not yet know if I’ll be applying for a summer job realizing a few of my concepts in Summer of Code 2009, but I thought they were interesting enough to toss up here.

Speaking of which, does anyone know of a crossplatform way to break HIG standards on all platforms? ;-) Most of the cross platform libraries I’ve seen seem to empahsize uniformity with the host operating system.

2 Responses to “AbiWord netbook mockups”


  1. 1 Dom Lachowicz February 14, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    Don’t be afraid of breaking any HIGs. An interface akin to Word2007 or Apple Pages could be really nice.

  2. 2 taiebot March 1, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    nice interface but for me the menu should display only the actions available.
    If i highlight a text a new menu should show up smoothly…
    If i highlght a paragraph an other menu.
    the same for an image…

    the killer application..


Comments are currently closed.



RSS Status

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Del.icio.us

Creative Commons License
This stuff is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

