Return to ArchLinux

So, when an Ubuntu kernel update severely messed up X.org last week, I was trapped with the horrors of Windows XP for a week. Clearly, something had to be done. I didn’t want to reinstall Ubuntu just to be faced with the same annoying X crash, and I do like to be running kernels with the latest security updates applied.

Enter Arch Linux. You can thank this fine fellow for reminding me of it’s existence. Though installation was much longer and painful than Ubuntu, it should be a lot less of a pain to fix if something breaks. Everything seems to be running fairly smoothly, though the interface fonts on Firefox 2 are in like 6 point font for no apparent reason, and sound is either muted or non-existent.  I’ll live; I just needed my coding environment back. I figure that if I have enough time to care about non-school-related details, I’ll have enough time to fix it.

Oh, It’s fast too. Noticeably faster boot, login, and package installation times. I’m pretty happy about pretty much everything associated with the switch.

All except for my 5 gigs of bandwith. *sigh* Alas, one-fifth of my five gigabyte per month bandwith allocation. I knew thee well.

4 Responses to “Return to ArchLinux”


  1. 1 penguinator February 11, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Yey! I was reading that article or one it points to and somebody asked what desktop environment Arch uses, but that’s the point. Choice.

  2. 2 James February 11, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Yeah. I’m using Gnome (because I like it, darn it!), but if the answer to that question is something that might prevent someone from trying out Arch Linux, they probably shouldn’t be using it anyway.

    Also, I forgot the mention this in the post, but I do enjoy tacos, and I’m pretty sure that I could lift a car (or anything, for that matter) over my head given enough time and a few simple machines.

  3. 3 Ben Leggett February 11, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    That’s why I left binary distros. Definitely sounds to me like a binary-distro type problem. Version mismatch or something. Xorg’s quite finicky sometimes. But I compile my own modules and kernel, so I’ve never had this particular issue.

    In your situation, with limited bandwidth, Arch is probably a good choice.

  4. 4 James February 11, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    It wasn’t X.org specifically. Everything worked fine in single-user mode. In multiuser mode, a different config file or *something* was being used, and X.org was automatically restarted whenever it crashed. There was an error message, but the logs weren’t catching it, and X was promptly restarted (only to hang or crash again) by some mysterious automated script I could never find.

    Arch Linux *is* a binary distro, but it’s fairly easy to go all Gentoo on it, from what I understand. Best of all, it has a simple, logical system of config and startup scripts (filled with comments explaining what’s going on) that one can grasp in an afternoon. I *still* don’t really understand how Upstart works due to the severe lack of good documentation.


Comments are currently closed.



RSS Status

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Del.icio.us

Creative Commons License
This stuff is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

