Professor Fizzwizzle Review

A little while back, I did a review of Rocket Boards. If you read it, you might have gotten the faint idea that I disliked the game. More then most games. So, in another "Talk about the game and I'll let you have a copy" type promotion, I was asked to review a little game called "Professor Fizzwizzle". Fuzzwizzle. Wizfuzzle?

Fortunately, the name is one of the only faults I can find with the thing. It really is a great game. I actually played though the demo about a month ago just cause it looked like fun. I shall now ramble aimlessly about how much I liked it for the rest of the review

It's a platform game (think Mario). But not just any platform game. It's like one of those evil puzzleish ones where you can't jump, you can only climb ladders, push stuff and (very occasionally) blow stuff up, till finally, after weeks of effort, you come to the level. You know what I'm talking about. That mandatory level in every puzzle game that seems impossible, the one that you restart like half a billion times trying to get past. The level that wouldn't die!

Note how I said "like" in the second sentence of the above paragraph. Prof. Wizzfizzle is like, but it's not. In the interest of preserving the sanity (and time) of not only yourself but also all the people around you, Profressor Fuzzwizzle also includes a solution for each and every level.

Also differentiating it from the crowd of puzzle games is how it looks and feels. With a few exceptions, there seems to be an unwritten rule that puzzle games must look ugly and feel clunky. That, this game is not. The screenshots really don't convey how nice the game looks. The little professor dude bumbles along happily, the teleporter *schoomp*s in and out nicely, and your evil foes menacingly resemble humanoid robots with TV sets on their head.

In my rambling, I seem to have forgotten to describe the game. If you haven't already looked at the handy link I posted above (and why not?), it's pretty much like Super Mario in puzzle land. You have to get to the teleporter, but the professor is apparently so overweight, he can't jump. So, you'll have to push crates onto switches to open gates, fill holes in the ground with crates, etc. It makes more sense when you see it, trust me. There's a tutorial and a bunch of kiddie levels. Pretty much any cute, innocent, impressionable kid who can feebly reach up the the computer keyboard and type "homestar runner" into Google can play. Maybe even some who can't.

Don't let the levels in the shape of giant teddy bears fool you, though. You can skip those and go right to the "Normal" and "Advanced" levels. Good luck with that last set, by the way. I had major difficulty getting past advanced level 1…

The graphics defiantly won't push the limits of your PC, but that's a good thing. Really. This game will run on just about anything. I tested it on a 400MHz pIII w/ 8mb ATi graphics card no problem. For my non-technical readers, this is a computer that would probably sitting be in your basement if you owned it. But you don't, and I have breathed into it new in the form of Debian Linux. Which reminds me, the game supports that, too. Windows, Mac and Linux. Bonus points!
So, unless you loath puzzle games, and/or don't have much spare time, there's pretty much not much not to like here.

Go checketh it out.

RSS Status

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Del.icio.us

Creative Commons License
This stuff is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

